Norway restricts Russian citizens from entering the country starting this Wednesday – Executive Digest

While maintaining some exceptions, Norway announced it will close its border to Russian tourists starting this Wednesday, losing its last direct access point to the Schengen area.

The Scandinavian country, which shares a 198-kilometer land border with Russia in the Arctic, is following the practices of the non-member European Union, which took similar action following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

“The decision to tighten entry rules is in line with Norway’s approach of supporting allies and partners in responding to Russia’s illegal and aggressive war against Ukraine,” Norwegian Justice Minister Emilie Enger Mehl said in a statement.

Norway, a member of the Atlantic alliance, has effectively stopped issuing tourist visas to Russian citizens from spring 2022, the date of the second Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Only long-term visa holders issued before 2022 or issued by another Schengen country can cross the Storskog-Boris Gleb border.

However, some exceptions are made, such as Russian citizens visiting close family members living in Norway and those working or studying in the country or in other Schengen states.

Although Norway is not a member of the European Union, it is closely associated with the European bloc and has accepted all sanctions imposed by Brussels on Russia.

See also  The 42-year-old murder was solved by a DNA sample

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *